Kenmare Shamrocks v Spa GAA – Senior Club Championship Rd 2

Our senior footballers came out second best against a gallant Spa side in the second round of the senior club championship played in front of a large crowd in Kenmare. Playing with the wind in the first half, we got off to a lively start with Kevin O’Sullivan kicking over after 38 seconds. By the 5 minutes, it was two points apiece with 2 free from the away sides full forward Evan Cronin and one from our own Sean O’Shea. Spa edged ahead in the 7th minute when Michael McCarthy (Spa) kicked over from 20 yards out but from then to the 20th minute it was the home side who up the tempo kicking 5 points with our reply.  

Seanie added 4 (two points from play and two from frees) while two well-worked moves saw our wing-back Shane O’Sullivan and corner-back Dara Crowley tap over. This left the score on the 24th-minute mark at Kenmare 0-08 0-03 Spa. However, the Killarney side was to finish the half stronger kicking three points to our one to leave a scoreline at the break KenmareShamrocks 0-09 0-06 Spa.

Seanie (2) and Even Cronin exchanged free at the start of the second half. We then had had a great chance of a goal only for Paul O’Connor’s shot to rattle the crossbar and go over. Seanie tapped over a free on the 41st minute to put 5 points between the sides. Spa then hit a rich vein of form with 4 unanswered scores before Michael McCarthy (Spa) was black-carded on the 26th minute. This should have given us the drive to see out the game but it wasn’t to be. In fact, it was the away side that responded the better with a point from play and two from frees, the third coming deep into stoppage time.


Kenmare charged up the field looking for a last gasp goal only to see Mark Crowley’s attempt go over the bar. The match finished 0-14 – 0-13 in favour of the away side and we must now regather and focus on next weekend’s match against Dr. Crokes.

  1. Kieran Fitzgibbon, 2. Dara Crowley (1pt), 3. James McCarthy, 4. Cian O Sullivan, 5. Dan McCarthy, 6. Dara O Shea (Captain), 7. Shane O Sullivan (1pt), 8. Griffin Wharton, 9. David Hallissey, 10. Tom Murnane, 11. Sean O Shea (8pts, 5 placed), 12. Kevin O Sullivan (1pt), 13. Micheál McCarthy, 14. Paul O Connor(1pt), 15. Stephen O Brien.

Subs: 16. Ray O Shea, 17. Matthew Murnane, 18. Mark Crowley(1pt), 19. Kevin Price, 20. David Ciuciu, 21. Pearse O Brien, 22. Liam Palmer, 23. Jimmy Lehane, 24. Cian Hanley, 25. Ciaran O Sullivan, 26. Tommy Cronin, 27. Kane Reidy, 28. Dylan O Connor, 29. Padraig Cronin, 30. Tom Quinlan, 31. Gearoid Doyle

Manager: DJ Brennan
Selectors: Shane Dalton, Shannon Ryan
S&C Coach: Ryan McLaughlin
Physio: Stephanie O Sullivan